I have the knack of getting in the way whenever my daughter is trying to capture a landscape picture. I always (try to) obey the command to “get out of the picture”, but apparently my camouflage skills leave much to be desired. Also, I get a little bit impatient waiting for her to finish the shoot and allow me to carry on with my walking exercise.

Here my daughter was sitting on top of a sandbank formed at high tide, trying to get a shot of the clear blue ocean in the back. Noticed the round boulder in the middle of the picture? …

Hiding behind the sandbank

That’s me hiding behind the sandbank, peeking out to see whether she’s done yet.

Hiding behind the sandbank

Here she was capturing a wide shot of the tidal pool at low tide. Notice the odd shape of the first pillar on the front wall? …

Wide shot of the tidal pool at low tide

Me again: “Is this gonna take long?”

Wide shot of the tidal pool at low tide

Capturing the support structure of the railway bridge and dolosse***

Under the railway bridge

Me: “Can you still see me?”

Under the railway bridge

*** A dolos (plural dolosse – Afrikaans with approximate pronunciation “dawl-awe-suh”) is a concrete block in a complex geometric shape weighing up to 20 tons, used in great numbers to protect harbour walls from the erosive force of ocean waves. Source: Wikipedia.

WPC Peek

