T

 

I am not a good cook. No, let’s amend that; I hate cooking and I avoid the kitchen at all costs. Kitchens are very scary places, what with hot stoves, sharp knives, all kinds of equipment that make whirring noises or go clonk-clonk. Besides, my husband and all my children can cook, probably because otherwise they would’ve starved; I also refuse to buy take-away foods.

But, BUT – there is always a but, the exception to the rule: on the 25th day of December in any given year, I rise early, all dressed up for the occasion in my favourite pj’s, to make the Christmas trifle.

I don’t mean that kind of trifle that Dr Google defines as “an unimportant or trivial thing / matter, a thing / matter of no consequence or importance, a bagatelle, inessential, nothing”. No, a Christmas trifle is a serious thing / matter, of extraordinary consequence … and so on. In South Africa, Christmas is celebrated at the height of the African summer, which means that we eat cold meats, cold salads and cold desserts. Every single ingredient comes straight out of the fridge (icebox to all Americans).

I only use ingredients available in the fridge (I also hate shopping) and my family hopefully collect every ingredient that they deem to be a likely candidate. Therefore, whatever appears on the kitchen counter on Christmas morning, will be added to the trifle, provided that it is edible, of course. Cat food excluded. A year is a very long time to remember a recipe, which means that every year the trifle has a different look and taste.

Ons het nou onlangs hier in blogland gesels oor die feit dat die woord trifle so ingeburger is in die Afrikaanse informele taal, dat ons (ek, tenminste) geen idee gehad het wat die Afrikaans daarvoor is nie. Gelukkig het die woord “koekstruif” toe uitgekom en ook “kleinigheid-poeding”. Nou kan ek nie eens onthou wie vir my die inligting gegee het nie. Ek het gaan soek onder die kommentaar, maar ek kekkel ook so baie op verskillende blogs dat ek die gesprek nie weer kon vind nie.

My man vertel vir my dat hulle ook maar grootgeword het met trifle, maar sy ma het ‘n ander belangrike bestanddeel bygevoeg… In die maand voor Kersfees het sy alle kleingeld, tiekies en sikspense, bymekaar gemaak en mooi afgewas, dan het sy so ‘n handvol ook by die trifle gegooi. Sodra die poeding dan op die tafel neergesit is, het elke kind soveel as moontlik en so vinnig as moontlik geëet om sy / haar sakgeld aan te vul. Hy kan nie onthou dat hulle ooit van die kleingeld ingesluk het of ‘n tand in die proses gebreek het nie.

Ek het die storie al iewers anders ook gehoor, maar dié persoon het vertel dat hulle dit met ‘n doekpoeding gedoen het, sê ek vir hom. Ja, sê hy, maar sy ma het geweier om doekpoeding te maak, omdat ‘n buurvrou eenkeer vertel het dat haar ou tante altyd die poeding in die hoof van die huis se ou onderbroek gekook het; skoongewas natuurlik, maar darem.

