Sleutelwoorde

, ,

G

Gogo, is a Zulu word for grandmother. The Zulu nation is in general very respectful and friendly disposed towards older people. My grey hair and wrinkles earned me the right to be addressed as Gogo, long before the birth of our only grandchild nineteen months ago.

She calls me Ouma (Afrikaans for grandmother) and I call her Cutesicle, the definition of which is (according to the Urban Dictionary) “someone who is super duper cute and makes you want to use stupid-sounding phrases to describe them, because you just can’t handle their cuteness”.

Ek het eendag vir een van my kollegas gevra hoe dit met sy nuwe kleindogter – toe sowat ses weke oud – gaan en sy antwoord was: “Wel, sy het besluit om volgende jaar aan die Olimpiese Spele deel te neem, maar ek dink sy moet liewer haar aandag bepaal by haar tesis”.

Net so. Ek het presies verstaan wat hy bedoel. Elke kleinkind is perfek in elke opsig. Elke kleinkind is spesiaal.

Dan moet ek darem byvoeg, myne is besonder spesiaal, is sy nie?

Gogo loves her Cutesicle    ❤

